Text: Matthew 5:1-10,12 
Language: English 
Ensemble: SATB, B solo 
Accompaniment: Organ 
Genre: General Sacred 
Duration: 5.0 minutes 
Page Count: 7 
Catalog Number: NWC-190

Available mid-2024. Sign up here to be notified when this title becomes available.

Sample Score

The text has always been an enigma to me. I decided to set it simply, mostly in 2 parts, and in prose with no regular meter, with a background organ part which would enhance the wonder of Christ’s words in a way that text would always be at the forefront of the music. The organ interludes give the listener opportunity to ponder these mysteries. 

Now when he saw the crowds, he went up on a mountain side and sat down. His disciples came to him, and he began to teach them, saying: 

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, 
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. 
Blessed are those who mourn, 
for they will be comforted. 
Blessed are the meek, 
for they shall inherit the earth. 
Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, 
for they will be filled. 
Blessed are the merciful, 
for they will be shown mercy. 
Blessed are the pure in heart, 
for they will see God. 
Blessed are the peacemakers, 
for they will be called children of God. 
Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, 
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. 
Rejoice and be glad, for great is your reward in heaven." 

Matthew 5:1-10,12